Security, it’s everyone’s concern

17 Mar

Top Quote coming:

Sign seen on way to dropping laundry off this morning:

“SECURITY – It’s everyones concern”

Quote from George, cell mate:

“It’s not mine, I don’t give a shit.”

Priceless.

I step out of the secure confines of my chamber to grab my laundry and post a letter to my pals back home. Shah grabs me to say goodbye, he is heading back to Ryehill now he has finished his confiscation hearing. I bid him farewell and although he will be back here in 4 weeks, I hope I won’t be here to see him. He’s a top bloke but friendships aside, Wanno is not a place to stay for too long. It’s a bad situation waiting to happen.

I overhear some screws talking about the resettlement board, we slip out of the cell and tag along, George and I, to see if we can shake the tree as best as we can, D-Cat wise.

At the doors of the categorisation office, 3 screws stand firm and refuse us entry. We don’t have an ‘App’! If you’ve read my diary from the beginning of my stay in prison, you will appreciate the irony in that statement. Our renegade off wing fact-finding mission, was saved from failure as the Forces liaison officer’s ears prick up on overhearing our desire to speak to him. Clearly there is little call for him here and he is happy to be seen to working his own niche area of prisoners. At this point a female screw relents and allows us entry, we decline, we only wanted to nudge the categorisation officers, job done.

Being ex Royal Artillery, I am eligible for support from SSAFA. Be it TA or Regular, if you have served at least one day in the British Armed Forces, you can seek assistance on a range of areas while inside and on exit. I recommend taking them up on their offer, if at least to open a few avenues.

SSAFA stands for Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen and Families Association. 

On my return to E-Wing, I sit down to a cup of tea. A couple of traveller lads I put forward for some vacant jobs, stop by and thank me for helping them out. The two brothers seem a little lost but polite and in the spirit of ‘paying it forward’ I’m only too happy to help them as Darren did for me.

I whack on ‘Homes under the Hammer’ a favourite, when a screw storms into the cell and rips the tv out of the socket. Tucking it under his arm, he says:

“Your moving cells and your buddy is being put on Basic Regime. You can stay here but I doubt he will be on the wing much longer”.

The previous evening, Twat arrived at the cell and asked George to sign his IEP Warning. The warning he had been threatened with but not incurred. Maybe Twat is bored but he’s issued him with the IEP notice regardless. It needs to be signed by the prisoner, no guesses for what George did.

For not signing, he has been given another IEP Warning. Not the type to back down, it looks like he’s heading for the block.

A decorated Naval Officer, former director of a Government Department, ex professional Athlete, now in prison, faces a spell in Segregation. Talk about humbling. I pack up my belongings again, in the threadbare plastic bags I’ve used more than they should be and head for a new cell and a new cell mate. With no sign of George at the moment, I can only imagine how his week has taken a massive wrong turn just out the traps.

At the moment though, I’m keen to know how my own week is going to pan out now. Cell E3-11 awaits.

Leave a Reply

