Day 43 – New First

21 Apr

Halfway through my carpentry course today, so it’s with a little urgency I’ve begun getting my post course plans put in action. I enrol on a fulltime education course, something that won’t start until October however. In the meantime it’s agreed in the education department that I can study a Rosetta Stone course and join the ‘Writing for Publication’ course, tutored by the zany and thoroughly decent human, Luci.

I’m on the hunt for an orderly role in the prison, some sort of function similar to mine at Wandsworth. I’d like to think I can offer something here, despite my faults, there is a reason why I never pursued a career in the Prison Service and it’s not for fear I couldn’t fulfill the functions required. Again anything that gets me out of potting holes caused by rabbits or making poppies is the objective. I couldn’t think of anything worse than having a year to reflect on my life and do a little self improvement, but having to spend it doing something that makes me 100% more likely to re-offend.

The job of induction orderly is a role I have been encouraged to apply for by John, an induction orderly with a broad Yorkie accent. He tells me they expect a couple of spaces coming available soon, so I should submit an app. I grab a form and scuttle back under my rock.

I visited the Dr in the morning just to update him on my progress:

I am told I have Gastric Flu. I’ve never had that before, nice little first.

Delroy is out, so I spend a little while cleaning my cell and notice a small army of ants crawling into the Billet – nothing will get done about this, that’s for sure.

I’ve been offered a cell change – to one in another billet from a lad called Spencer. Spence is on my carpentry course – his current cellmate Paddy got drunk in Brighton on a town visit, ended up in a brawl and has bunked his return to head back to South London. This morning he has handed himself into Belmarsh nick. He is guaranteed another 28 days to serve on top of his remaining sentence, as well as being damn sure he will never return to an open prison again.

He won’t be home for christmas and will struggle to secure bail when (And I do mean when) he inevitably gets himself sent to prison again. He didn’t have a great deal of time left to serve and it’s for these little events that the long termers dislike sharing a prison with those on brief stays. It is often they that flout the rules with less to lose and make life difficult for everyone. To be honest I’m pleased he’s gone from my general vicinity. He is a loud, arrogant, loathsome ape who despite being covered by a thick layer of fat, felt wearing tracksuit bottoms and a vest, with a protein flask containing squash in hand; made him feel athletic. You get a lot of these in here, the pretend beefcakes. I’m sure on the outside he dons a tight t shirt and hopes people mistake man-breasts for pecs.

 

One Response to “Day 43 – New First”

  1. stephenedwards425 April 23, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

    I have enjoyed immensely reading your blog. As a writer I know you will understand if I am absent from making comments for a couple of months. I have two books I’m writing and the push is on to get them finished…so with only 24 hours in the day, I am going to continue to read and like, but my comments will be limited to replies for those who comment on my blog…thanks for the grace.

    Be encouraged!

Leave a Reply

