Pretend Christmas

4 Jun

Digital Radio – lifesaver in prison. When you are limited in floorspace to a grand total of 8 foot by 4 foot, wiggling an aerial in the middle of England’s countryside to pick up a radio station isn’t a barrel of laughs. Get some DAB action on the go.

With a little over a month to go till I am eligible for release on electronic tag, I have scheduled a home leave in the week before christmas. You must have 28 days in between each home leave and taking one any later in the month, to include the 25th would mean I miss out on a final one in January. Extra days in prison is best avoided where possible. Christmas tension has seen punch-ups a plenty here, behind the backs of the screws and lingering in a soured atmosphere isn’t pleasurable.  Just this month gone, prison guards left hundreds of inmates to hang around in a dark corridor waiting an eternity unmonitored, to be let in to the dining hall. A punch up ensued at the head of the queue. Despite banging on the door, those screws already in the canteen refused to open the main entrance as it is usually the duty of the final screw in their complement. 3 are generally on duty at meal times and they are obviously sourced from different departments. Those inmates stuck in the congestion enter via a door to be opened by a guard who obviously hadn’t arrived for the shift yet. A rematch was called for the following day, exactly the same circumstances. Understaffed, unobservant and unlawful. The second fight ended as the first did: a solid boot to a floored combatant’s temple. A sickening noise as the bass created by the skull echoes out a deep sound.

This is a Cat D and these chaps are due for release anytime soon.

A 5 day break in writing comes along and I get to enjoy my own bed, the love of my family on my terms, all the food I’ve dreamed of, a trip to my local boxing club and my pals chuck me a surprise party.  Overwhelmed is how I felt, to top it off a letter sits on the kitchen worktop on my final day – it’s a tax rebate from the Inland Revenue.

I feel like I’ve chucked a bit of weight on in these 5 days away from Ford; I can’t wait for the opportunity to add a bit more 🙂

On a home leave you are expected to abide by a number of conditions, these include:

No visiting Licensed Premises

Residing at a pre approved address

No use of social networking sites…

The list goes on and I wonder how many inmates on home leaves observe these. As for me, I’m not one to discuss my private life…

Leave a Reply

